Dresden Plates get Finished

By

Expecting my third baby, mum asked if I had any ideas for the cot quilt I might like. I knew immediately the quilt I would love for my now three year old, it was Dotty for Dresden by Sarah Fielke as seen in the book ‘Material Obsession’. Mum had never before made a dresden plate, but was up for the challenge, she collected 1930’s inspired fabrics, spotty fabric and a dresden ruler and I watched on. The cot quilt she made was very much the same as the one in the book, but miniature.

dotty for dresden E in her Quilt  cat sleeping under E's quilt

Following E’s birth and whilst I was on maternity leave, mum gave me a sewing machine and then for the following months I was interested in making dresden plates… I don’t know why, I just love the look of them with their many blades and versatility. So, for the following months I made dresden plates, for no real reason, I made rainbow ones, I made yellow ones, I even just cut blades to sew at some point in time. Needless to say, days turned into months, my interest waned until this month during some kind of stash clean up and reorganising, it was decided that we should dust off some unfinished projects- dragging them from where they have laid for a good few years and, well, finish them.   From September 2010 to now…. not quite finished, yellow and white dresden plate quilt, with free motion quilting (quilted by Maxine):

Cait's Dresden quilt finished

 

IMG_3330_JPG IMG_3218_JPG IMG_2694dresden

From October 2010 and now finally completed, rainbow dresden plates (final picture to be uploaded), again quilted by Maxine.

IMG_0349_JPG   IMG_0350_JPG IMG_3276_JPG

The most rewarding part of finishing off these projects is the hard work was completed years ago, choosing the colours, fabrics and style was done and with fresh eyes, they are becoming finished and I’m pretty happy with the end result. As for the box of blades, for now they wait to be sewn and used.

IMG_3326_JPG

