Quilt Along with Material Girl

By

In my last post (School Holidays), I mentioned my interest in undertaking a quilt along to practice my technique… again I can not state enough how much I need to work on pressing and lining up my pieces.

Here’s a snap of my chevron quilt from last post so far, which has left me wondering if I should go with a row of green squares or continue with zig zag pattern right through?

photo 1-2

With a row of green squares

photo 2-3

continuing as a chevron pattern

Back to the quilt along, fortunately, I found a quilt along right up my alley, using only half square triangles at Material Girl.

My partner found some sugar skull fabric that he really liked, and insisted on buying it for me to make a rug for him. Well, as the saying goes- kill two birds with one stone and that I am! The blocks are brights, I’m going for a busy, colourful look in keeping with the colours and liveliness of the colours seen on the sugar skulls with the added bonus of being contrasting enough to remind me how the patterns were formed. Here are my blocks so far:

photo-24

Block One

Block Two

Block Two

photo-26

Block Three

photo-27

Block Four

IMG_3155

Block Five

photo-23

Block Six

And a sneak peek together of the first five blocks together

photo-28

