The Finish Line is Near…

By

So this week is final quilt layout options and piecing instructions week in Material Girls Layer Cake quilt along… and here is my progress (blocks 7-20 in no specific order):

photo 1-4  photo 3-3

photo 1-5  photo 2-5 photo 2-6 photo 2-7 photo 3-2 photo 3 photo 4-1 photo 4-2 photo 4 photo 5-2 photo 5 photo 1

Feeling pretty happy, this is the biggest quilt I’ve made, and there will be lots of googling how to manage the quilting of something this size. Here’s how it looks with the sashing beginning to take place and the fabric I have picked up for the back.

 photo 2-8

The biggest lessons from this project for me have been the importance of pressing seams, I tried ironing the seams open after reading different articles but found pressing them to one side was easier to manage when sewing in this instance and keeping seam allowances consistent.

What next? I’m thinking more HST, although just repeating the same block or perhaps a skirt for my youngest. Our local fabric shop has some beautifully patterned pinwale corduroy in time for winter… ohh and i pieced together the scraps left over from the QAL and I’m excited to use this up, just not sure how yet.

To check out other people’s works in progress have a look at Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday

