Scrappy triangles and the development of a new project

By

I have made progress on the scrappy triangles.  I have used most of the scrappiest of scraps, some of the pieces were only 2 inches by 4 inches.  I divided the material into four categories, dark, mid tone darks, mid tone lights and lights.  Then I just stitched until each of the piles were gone.  These are the triangles before I worked out a layout for them.

scrap triangle

 

Because I did not make a plan for this quilt and just sewed until all the fabric was gone I was left with a surprise about how the layout would look.  I was not sure if there would be enough of each colour way to develop a pleasing effect.  Anyway luck was on my side. I had just enough of each piece to make the following layout.

 

triangles laid out resized

Sorry about the blue colour cast in the photo, but the light was very poor.  I am not sure when I am going to do more work on this quilt because I now have another new project to work on.

My sister-in-law asked me to make a quilt for her daughter-in-laws’ birthday.  I have about a month to get it done.  I suspect it might take a little longer than a month.

She asked if I could make something with an art deco design.  I agreed to give it a go.

This turned out to be a very fortunate request.

About a year ago I purchased the EQ7 quilting programme, I had not used it very much because I was still  working out how to use the programme,  I had found it to be a little challenging.  One of the many functions the programme offers is the capacity to import and trace around an image and convert it into a patchwork pattern.

Luckily for me my husband makes lead light in his spare time and he happened to have a pattern book of art deco designs.

art deco book cover

art deco pattern

This is the design I have chosen

I scanned the design and then entered it into the EQ programme, used the drawing tool to trace around the design, and  re-sized the design to fit the finished size of  the quilt.

Fantastic programme that has opened up a whole new world of quilt design possibilities.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I am going to make a quilt for my newly born great-nephew but I was struggling to find inspiration.  Now my head is buzzing with ideas and I can hardly wait to begin both quilts.

By the end of the coming weekend I hope to purchase the fabric for the art deco quilt and make a start on sewing it.  Yes, despite having a cupboard full of fabric I have to purchase more. I just did not have enough in the right colours.   I will be looking for 1930’s fabrics in greens and yellows, that’s the plan, so I’m hoping the local quilting shop has plenty in stock for me to choose from.

I’m linking into WIP Wednesday.

 

 

