Rusty Strips ‘quilt as you go’

By

Grey and tan 1_edited-1                     IMG_8466_edited-3

Another fantastic project completed. These fabrics were collected over time from Spotlight. The main fabrics are various shades of grey with a pattern of black and a hint of tan in their design. I incorporated the black and tan colours into the coloured bands ‘Rusty Strips’. The ‘Rusty Strips’ were made up from various fabrics that I had in my stash and some that were a present from a friend.  The backing, that I forgot to photograph, is white quilters muslin.

This quilt is a ‘quilt as you go’. I started with a piece of fabric large enough for the centre panel and worked out from there. I pieced the ‘Rusty Strips’ joined them onto the grey strip and then quilted on the grey  strip in free motion stippling. I joined the strips onto the quilt as I completed them.  The ‘quilt as you go’ design meant that I only had to handle this huge quilt as a I joined on the strips.

This quilt is perfect for our spare bedroom, which has a small two seater old style sofa that we had covered in the russet colour. It will also have curtains in the same russet colour as soon as I make them.

It has been a busy week finishing off a couple of quilts, making curtains for the lounge and a chefs hat for a fancy dress costume. I am happy that these are all completed as I have to start think about getting our house back in order now that my husband has finished some decorating I can then think about a new project.

Happy Quilting

