Art Deco quilt finished and on it’s way to Sydney

By

I have finished the art deco quilt which my friend is giving to her daughter in law as a birthday present.  When I was first asked to make the quilt I did not think I would have it finished in time for her birthday, but I enjoyed making it so much that I put all of my other projects on hold.

 

 

 

 

The quilt has now been handed over to my friend and will be taken to Sydney later this week to be given to it’s new owner.  I hope she likes it as much as I liked making it.

In a previous post I said I wanted to quilt it in the style of quilting as seen on the Green Fairy blog,  I soon came to realise that a more accurate statement would have gone along the lines of “I am away with the fairies” because I realised my quilting  ambition was way out of my league and ability.  None the less I was really pleased with the effect of the quilting especially on the back of the quilt.

 

 

deco back quilting

 

 

Unfortunately the photos did not do justice to the colours of the fabrics.

I could not get the colours of the fabric right despite trying several different settings on the camera.

I will now get back to some other projects that need to be started such as my great nephews baby quilt and ones that need to be finished like the scappy triangles.  I am also keen to make another quilt using patterns similar to the art deco style.

 

I am linking into Freshly pieced WIP Wednesday.

