Art Gallery’s Rapture

By

Inspired by the beautiful blue/teals, yellows and pink/peach hues of Art Gallery’s ‘Rapture’ and autumn sunset, I have set about making a new quilt for my 3 year old daughter (who has desperately been asking for a quilt of her own-  her brother and sister have already got one of their own for their big beds).

Not wanting to disappoint, I put a lot of thought into how I would construct this to create a sweet unique blanket especially for her.

I salvaged some hand embroided table linen that had beautiful pink flowers to include in the construction of the quilt in the centres of the Dresden Plates. 

All materials, waiting for me to start 🙂

photo 1-8

Vertical strips in blue/greens cut

photo 2-11

photo 3-8

Pink squares for horizon underway

photo 4-6

Strips and squares joined.

photo 5-4

Playing with the placement of the dresden plates. The dresden plates vary in size from big to small like the sun setting.

photo 2-12

photo 3-9

photo 1-9

Finished photos to come… thanks for stopping by and I’m linking into Freshly Pieced’s WIP Wednesday, head over a view other WIP 🙂

