Vintage revival

By

It has been such a long time since my last post so it seemed fitting that this post was about sewing something from a time in the past.

I have just completed a dress for my daughter using a vintage pattern from the 60’s and fabric that is almost as old.

The green and white fabric (known as Haircord) was purchased at a private sale some years ago for about 50 cents.

fabric for dress2

My daughter recently bought several vintage sewing patterns dating from the 1950′ s  through to the 1970’s.  She chose the patten pictured and I made her the sleeveless version on the right hand side of the pattern.

Dress pattern2

It has been almost 8 years since I sewed an item of clothing, because, at that time I purchased a new overlocker after the motor of my old one burnt out.  Sadly the new overlocker caused me nothing but frustration, it insisted on chewing up the fabric no matter how many hours I spent threading, re-threading and reading the manual and making adjustments.  I don’t think I ever completed an item of clothing from the time I bought the new overlocker.

Anyway late last year after lots of research I bought a Babylock overlocker and I am now psyching up to sew clothes again.

I have so many things I want to do and so much fabric to use now that I have a machine I can rely on.

This is the finished dress. A simple pattern that fits really well and that was an easy introduction back into garment sewing.

finished dress

Of course during the past eight years I did not give up on sewing completely, during those years I made a number of quilts which did not require an overlocker.

I am also working on a quilt for a friends child, and finishing off two other unfinished quilting projects.

I will post some pictures of these in the near future.

