McCalls 7841 – 1981 Misses’ Skirt

By

Sunday, I returned from Spotlight (fabric shop) with a length of beautiful and fresh floral suiting fabric which sang to me whilst looking for something else.

IMG_1360IMG_1374

I decided that this would make a nice skirt. The fabric itself has the floral border at both ends, and the middle will be used as a waist band.

I  sorted through Mum’s patterns on Monday,  pulling out what I thought were the most suitable skirt patterns – narrowing it down to two McCall’s Patterns but ultimately deciding on McCalls 7841- Misses’ Skirt  from 1981.

As for progressing this project- Mum is sewing this one for me 😉  She started it today at her Tuesday sewing class. She has cut it out, relatively few pieces- two pieces cut on the fold and a waistband. She has sewn the skirt together and put in the zip- and she is now waiting  to measure me and put on the waistband. I think between the cat and I we’re holding Mum up 🙂

What patterns do you have that you can dust off and use reliably again and again?

