WIP: Finishing What We’ve Started

By

Today has been a busy day! I am on holidays and looking to clear out ‘stuff’ before moving house. While I’ve been waiting for handover of our new house, I have been sorting through cupboards and found another quilt top and backing from 2014 that needs to be finished- this then led to finding 2 finished quilt tops at mum’s house that also need to be finished!

The first one, was a quilt along I did with half square triangles. It’s so bright and fun, the backing consists of sugar skulls and Madonnas. Can’t wait to take this one picnicing with the kids or cuddle up watching movies under it 🙂

IMG_5584

The second top is varied squares and rectangles in Japanese prints. This top was made by someone else who obviously lost the will to baste and quilt it. When we picked this up, Mum and I thought it would make a lovely wedding gift for a good friend who loves all things Japanese… fast forward and that wedding was a couple of years ago now, but the quilt will still make a lovely gift for said bride 🙂

IMG_5594

Lastly, Mum and I dusted off some of our stash to cobble together the backing for this one:

IMG_5592

Funnily enough, Mum now has a few basted quilts which may or may not be quilted anytime soon… fingers crossed they are 🙂 I think her words were “I’m not going to think about it, I’m just going to get stuck in” Yay Mum! Let’s do this…. before our minds wonder and we start another project 🙂 or another baby pops up

On a side note, how awesome is spray basting… what’s your favourite spray? they don’t all appear to be equal.

Look forward to posting photos of the finished quilts soon and I’m linking in to Mama Spark’s World: WIPs with FriendsQuilt Fabrication: Midweek Makers#24,  Em’s Scrap Bag: Moving it Forward and  Sew Fresh Quilts Let’s Bee Social #129

