Spring Breeze

By

IMG_1438I have a collection of fabrics by Kumiko Sudo called Spring Breeze that I have been waiting for the right occasion to cut into.

That time has arrived as a very close friend of mine has recently become a first time  grandmother to a little girl.

I think I will only use the red tones in the quilt and exclude the pink fabrics.

IMG_1495

 

IMG_1496

At this stage I am considering a Dresden plate design.  I found this Dresden plate called Kathleen’s Modern Dresden plate on Gina Beans blog here: http://ginabeanquilts.com/2014/01/kathleens-modern-dresden-plate.html.

I really liked the way she only used two fabrics in each plate. The green ombre style background fabric really sets the design off as well.

I will have to play around with the fabrics to see if I can create a similar effect, but I am not sure if it will suit the fabrics I am working with.

Linking into MMM #336 at Keeping it Simple and Fabric Tuesday at Quilt Story… take a look and see what others are doing 🙂

 

