Disappearing Nine Patch

By

My current goals are to use up fabric from the cupboard and to not waste scraps. This week I decided that I would use a charm pack that has been sitting in the cupboard for ages- Moda’s Best.Day.Ever and also use up a piece of fabric made up of joined scraps from a previous quilt circa 2014.

IMG_5655

I thought this was going to be the start of two separate projects and called into a local fabric shop to ‘see’ if there were some fabrics that would work with the two things I had pulled from the cupboard. I bought two pieces- pictured to the right (the bright floral is ‘Voluptuous’ by Philip Jacobs for Westminster Fibers and the paisley looking one is ‘Striped Heraldic’ by Kaffe Fassett also for Westminster Fibers).

Whilst they are bright and beautiful, I was working from memory- and they do not go with their intended partners.

So, long story short- I have paired the scraps with the charm pack and relegated the new fabric to the cupboard for now 🙂

I’m always at a loss as to what to do with the 5″ squares in a charm pack, but after careful consideration opted to make a disappearing nine patch. I cut the scrappy length of fabric into additional 5″ squares and added them into the mix. I briefly experimented with keeping the nine patch in colourways- however there wasn’t enough of a few of the colours to keep this up and ultimately I opted to just work it randomly.

Um, if you have read my bio you may have noted I like quick 🙂 Anyway, as of now, the nine patches have now been quartered- BTW this pattern was super easy, quick draw up of instructions below:

IMG_5692

And now I’m messing around with layout- although I am contemplating inclusion of a panel or looking at ways to make this quilt top bigger.

What’s your go to quilt pattern for charm packs? As beautiful as they are, I’m yet to realise their full potential.

Lastly, I’m linking into Main Crush Monday at Cooking up Quilts , Quilting is More Fun than Housework- Oh Scrap! and Em’s Scrap Bag Moving it Forward Monday

 

 

