My competition entry

By

IMG_0183_edited-4

In 2014 I entered this quilt in one of the Brother competitions. The theme was Eco. I called this ‘Every drop of water counts’. My finished quilt is not quite the same as my original idea but it was great to think about my design, go away come back rethink and rejig. My background and backing fabrics were brown dead leaves, True Timber design fabrics. The tap was a grey fabric to which I added some gold foil to give it the appearance of an old worn out metal tap. The drop of water was made up of various floral fabrics some of these are photographs that I had taken at the Floriade in Canberra that I printed on fabric. My son drew the hands, which I love, I made them out of green fabric to represent new life and added a piece of clear plastic which looks the hands are holding water. I did need to jiggle and recut the drop of water to make it fit with the tap and hands, I hand sewed that into place. The quilting was concentric circles to represent drops of water – see  bloomingpoppies.net   ‘Quilting Concentric Circles’ tutorial. I was delighted with how it came together. I did receive a certificate for my entry. So now I had to make a decision of what to do with it. I didn’t want to hang it on my wall or just put it away in a cupboard. I had been showing it to my brother his wife on Skype, they loved it and asked me if they could have it, so I posted it off to England. On my recent trip to England I saw it hanging just inside the entrance to their home, a great topic of conversation for the visitors. I am a winner. Happy sewing to all you winners. Ilene

