My visit to The Bramble Patch UK

By

During my recent visit to England I was able to visit The Bramble Patch patchwork, quilting and fabric shop. Located in the village of Weedon, Northamptonshire BNN74QU. Established in 1987 they offer a range of services for the quilter and is worth a visit. They also have a very detailed site online. www.bramblepatchonline.com

The timing of our visit was perfect as they had a display of antique and vintage quilts and sewing and needlework tools – everything from medieval thimbles, Elizabethan pins and Victorian needle cases to scissors made of silver, steel and bone. The vintage quilts were from the collections of Barbara Chainey and Jane Cobbett.

A Silk Hexagon Wedding Quilt for Mrs Williams daughter in 1883

20160601_212446-1

Funeral quilt 1800s.

20160601_214558

My favourite a Whole of Cloth hand sewn in the 1920s.

blog-11

Entry to the exhibition was £2, with proceeds going to the Macmillan Cancer Support. My brother in law – the driver – was able to have coffee whilst my sister Di and I looked around, an excellent service. 

 

