Squedge

By

batik-1

A Wedge + A Square = Squedge! This is the latest template/ruler that Maxine and I both purchased at one on the quilt shows last year.

I had been wondering what to make with the gift of Batik fat quarters from my son and daughter in law. It was difficult to decide how to cut these beautiful colourful fabrics. The Squedge Ruler, Cheryl Phillips, phillipsfiberart.com, is a perfect design for these fabrics . The Squedge comes in various sizes the one we purchased is the 22.5. Included with the Ruler is the 16 piece block pattern = 16 inch finished block.

At this stage my plan is to make 20 blocks (more will be revealed) and then to decide how the quilt will be completed, it may have a border, it may not. This is ‘Quilt as you go’ quilt. I won’t make a decision how the quilt will be assembled until all the block have been completed. Another mystery quilt in the making. It is a joy to work with these bright colours, and I am going to be very selfish, this quilt is for me, well our home.

Happy quilting Ilene

