Baby’s first smocked outfit

By

My next sewing project is this smocked baby outfit for my daughter’s fourth child, who is due in May.

The pattern is from issue 62 of the Australian smocking and Embroidery magazine.

It is a two piece suit called “The little Shepherd” and designed by Kris Richards of South Australia.

outfit photo

It has been about 6 years since I made a smocked outfit so I am looking forward to making a start on this.

I am making it out of some vintage fabric I bought some years ago called Clydella.  This is a cotton and wool mix fabric.  I think it is almost impossible to buy anymore, I believe it was popular in the 40’s and 50’s.  I am making the outfit in a 3 month old size so it can be worn in winter.

Clydella fabric

 

fabric pleated

This is the fabric pleated and ready for smocking.

 

I have chosen cream and apricot  DMC embroidery thread for the smocking.

thread colours

