Cushions for the kids

By

cushion

I received a special request from my son and daughter in law for some very large bright coloured cushions to add to their new furniture. The new furniture is a mottled dark grey fabric. I have used some of the beautiful colourful batik fabrics that I love, a gift from them.  For the centre panel I used the ‘Squedge Ruler’ by Cheryl Phillips which suits this fabric very well. I added a  border of grey and 2 1/2 inch blocks in the batiks and did the binding in grey. I quilted the top using a cotton batting and a plain white fabric as the backing. Another chance of practicing my free motion quilting. The cushions have the grey fabric on the back. I am very happy with this finished cushion, so three more to go. I am hoping to get another finished today and these two will be a surprise gift for their wedding anniversary. My son might be very happy to use them by the end of tomorrow. He has raised money for the Worlds Greatest Shave which supports the Leukaemia Foundation in providing life saving treatment, free emotional and practical support, i.e. accommodation for regional families who have to come to the city for treatment. My son was on holiday in March so not able to complete the shave until he got home. He has no hair on his head so will be ‘waxed’ back and front. While he is being ‘waxed’  his family have organised a sausage sizzle for those who have donated money. Well done to Donovan, Mum is not sure if she can come to watch the torture.

Happy Quilting Ilene

